Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 6  [ 59 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 »
KHT
Post subject: Erikrike Post-war combatants.Posted: May 19th, 2012, 11:28 pm
Another multi-ship thread. Not as much to post numerous designs as to hone my post-war designing, typicaly designs fitting into the 50's
There will mostly be destroyers and FACs in this thread. I have very little knowledge of post-WW2 designs, and would like some advice for it.

VERY WIP
So this is the first design. Essentially a "Super-Halland", with four 140mm fully automatic guns in twin turrets, four 57mm M/50 in twin turrets, and four 40mm M/48, along with a torpedo broadside of twelve 533mm torps. With this comes a speed of 35 knots and a side armour of 25mm and 75mm in turrets*. She is made to outmatch gunnery destroyers thanks to her armor and heavier artillery, but still posses a heavy punch against larger opponents. I would mostly like to know if I've made some extreme screw-ups, so that I won't have to remedy them when the drawing is done.
[ img ]
*These numbers are very preliminary, and might probably be changed.

[Profile] [Quote]
klagldsf
Post subject: Re: Erikrike Post-war combatants.Posted: May 20th, 2012, 6:02 am
Why do you have two anti-submarine bomb throwers crowded together so near main gun armament?

[Profile] [Quote]
TimothyC
Post subject: Re: Erikrike Post-war combatants.Posted: May 20th, 2012, 6:10 am
By the 1950s you start to see fixed internal torpedo tubes (as on DL-1). This will slightly reduce the space taken up by the mounts.

[Profile] [Quote]
klagldsf
Post subject: Re: Erikrike Post-war combatants.Posted: May 20th, 2012, 6:14 am
And because I anticipate this being asked, they would simply be represented as circles within the hull itself.

[Profile] [Quote]
KHT
Post subject: Re: Erikrike Post-war combatants.Posted: May 20th, 2012, 7:26 am
klagldsf wrote:
Why do you have two anti-submarine bomb throwers crowded together so near main gun armament?