Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 
zypzaex
Post subject: Radar and Mast Help?Posted: September 29th, 2017, 1:50 am
Greetings fellow Bucketeers,

I was trying to make a semi-realistic coast guard ship for an AU that I have in the works. I am a total newb at Shipbucket, so this is also my first design that attempts to be even halfway realistic (my others are all fit for the annals of NationStates). Anyhow, I'm trying to make a ship, based on the capabilities of the US's Legend-class National Security Cutter. It is visually inspired by Rowdy36 and LEUT_East's (absolutely brilliant, btw) Multi-Role Vessel IFACGS Broome.

Which sensors would you use on this, and where? Or should I just put everything in radomes? Design critiques are very welcome as well. [ img ]

Thank you all, and I look forward to becoming a member of the Shipbucket community!

P.S. What image hosting method should I use? I am currently using Dropbox but I don't know how well that works for everyone.

[Profile] [Quote]
Novice
Post subject: Re: Radar and Mast Help?Posted: September 29th, 2017, 12:56 pm
Welcome aboard, and we'll gladly see your designs and hopefully some Real Life drawings.
I'm not that knowledgeable about modern warships, or Coastguard Cutters for that matter, but using some reason and a lot of guesstimating I can offer the following
You want a high resolution and long ranged surface search radar, for spotting small craft, be they smuggler boats or yachts in need.
You'll need a good navigational radar, maybe two, and of course you'll need sat-coms, good and varied communication equipment.
As for the image host, you'll need to let go of Dropbox since the loss of the Public folder it has become extremely difficult to publish drawings in the forums. There is a round about way, also published here in the various threads. I recommend using Imgur as hosting site as it works quite well, for now at least.