Moderator: Community Manager
[Post Reply] [*]  Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 »
nebnoswal
Post subject: Tarakan LCH, AustraliaPosted: September 4th, 2010, 12:03 pm
Well, here is my first attempt at a 'shipbucket'.

I've used the BMTDSL Caimen 200 design as a base for the "Tarakan" LCH, a replacement for the Balikpapan LCH class. Capable of up too 200 tons, so 2 x M1A1 easy, 1000+ nautical mile range and only 25 crew. It's my first attempt, so don't be too harsh. I modified the bridge, changed the radar, upgraded the 25mm to the Typhoon. I'm not happy with the ships penant number. I also addded the RHIB's and there recessed position. I'm thinking they cut too much into the superstructure and maybe be better off located on the stern.

I'm also thinking a future modified variant will have a heli-deck, and enlarged triage facilities.

[Profile] [Quote]
Canadai
Post subject: Re: Tarakan LCH, AustraliaPosted: September 4th, 2010, 12:14 pm
What's the deck penetration on that forward gun? If it's got much of one, it'll interfere with your vehicle deck.

[Profile] [Quote]
nebnoswal
Post subject: Re: Tarakan LCH, AustraliaPosted: September 4th, 2010, 12:26 pm
Canadai wrote:
What's the deck penetration on that forward gun? If it's got much of one, it'll interfere with your vehicle deck.
Don't know for sure, but there are 2 x 25mm cannons, they are either side of the well deck. I've attached the top view drawing from the BMTDSL .pdf

[Profile] [Quote]
Thiel
Post subject: Re: Tarakan LCH, AustraliaPosted: September 4th, 2010, 12:31 pm
If I remember correctly, the Typhoon mount doesn't have any penetration at all.
nebnoswal wrote:
I also addded the RHIB's and there recessed position. I'm thinking they cut too much into the superstructure and maybe be better off located on the stern.